Small company logo:
   History
 
Advertising banner:
 
 63
Home • Help • Form • 63
 
Use this form to set properties for a calendar and give other users access to it.


About button
Opens this calendar's Résumé form.
Directory button
Opens the Directory Information form for this calendar.
You can update the calendar's Directory entry using this form.
Subscribers button
Opens the list of subscribers to this calendar.
You can add and remove subscribers from this list.
Belongs to
Adds the calendar to calendar groups.
Any permissions you specify on this form override those inherited from the calendar groups.
Enter or remove calendar groups just as you would address messages.
Item expiry
The number of days an event or task can stay in your calendar before expiring.
The value Default uses the default expiry period for your server.
Do not publish in Directory
Keeps this calendar out of the Directory.
This allows you to name the calendar whatever you want, without worrying about finding a unique name, and prevents users who shouldn't be seeing your calendar from knowing about it.
7202010_20004_0.png        Note
We don't recommend that you select this for your personal calendar.
Who
The names of the users and user groups for whom you want to specify levels of access to the calendar.
Enter a name just as you would address a message. The order in which you list users and groups matters.
To insert a name, select the name above the insertion point, then press Enter/Return. To move a name, select it, then drag it to the desired location in the list. To remove a name, select it, press Delete, then press Tab.
7202010_20004_0.png        Note
This field doesn't control who can see the calendar. If the calendar is located in a container to which everyone listed here has access, they will see the calendar automatically. If a user listed here doesn't have access to the container, you must subscribe that user to the calendar.
Access
Choose the access level for each user and group you entered at "Who".
Permissions
Customize the individual permissions for this access level, if required.



Order in the "Who" field
You must list users and user groups in the "Who" field in the correct order, to make their permissions work as you want. Make sure you are familiar with the access levels available, before deciding on the order in which to enter your users and groups.
When a user tries to access the calendar, FirstClass checks the "Who" list from the top. When it finds the first occurrence of the user or a group to which the user belongs, it uses that access level for the user. This means that if the first thing you list is the All Users group, and make the access level for this group No Access, no one will be able to access the calendar.



Access levels
Access levels are predefined sets of individual permissions. You can assign an access level as is, or customize it by selecting and clearing individual permissions.


No Access
Can't view the calendar or add items to it.
See Times
Can view the calendar, but only see the times set aside for events and tasks.
Can't add events to the calendar (events are sent to participants' Mailboxes).
Schedule Only
Can add events to the calendar indirectly.
An event is added to a calendar indirectly when a user creates an event in another calendar and invites the calendar owner (in the case of location and resource calendars, books this location or resource).
Schedule+Times
Can look at the calendar (times only) and add events indirectly.
Schedule+Details
Can see popup details on the calendar and add events indirectly.
Can't open calendar items or add events directly (they go into the sender's personal calendar instead).
Editor
Has all previous permissions, and can open calendar items, edit and delete items, download attachments, and view item history.
7202010_20004_0.png        Note
Events created indirectly remain uneditable.
Can add events directly (they don't go into the sender's personal calendar).
Custom
Access is defined by the individual permissions which are selected.
If you customize another access level, it automatically becomes the Custom access level.



Individual permissions
The icons in the "Permissions" column represent individual permissions. These icons are toggles. To see what each permission icon means, display its tooltip.
7202010_20004_0.png        Note
Certain permissions only work if the administrator has given the user privileges to perform associated tasks. If a user can't do something in your calendar, and you gave that user permission, tell the user to contact the administrator.
These are the individual permissions you can assign:


Edit permissions
Can edit this Permissions form.
This includes adding users and groups at "Who", and adding users at "List of subscribers".
Moderator
2102006_35208_0.png Doesn't apply to calendars.
Delete any item
Can delete any item, including items added by others.
Create items
Can create events and tasks directly in the calendar, and move items into the calendar.
Edit read-only items
Can edit items that are not normally editable (items added by others). Events created indirectly remain uneditable.
2102006_35208_0.png For this permission to work:
•       you must be a subadministrator
•       the Edit items permission must also be selected.
Be cautious about selecting the Edit read-only items permission, because it overrides normal FirstClass operation.
Edit items
Can edit any normally editable event or task.
Save window and view properties
Can change the default position, size, and view properties of the calendar window.
572004_44255_0.pngCaution
A user with this permission is dictating the default calendar view for other users.
Approve items
2102006_35208_0.png Doesn't apply to calendars.
Delete own items
Can delete and change the properties of their own items.
View unrestricted details
Can see the details of items with a sensitivity of Normal.
This permits users to see popup details for closed calendar items.
Search items
Can search the calendar.
Add participants
Can update the calendar directly.
2102006_35208_0.png For this permission to work, the Create items permission must also be selected.
For resource and location calendars, users without this permission must update the calendar by booking the resource or location when creating an event in another calendar. This calendar must be published in the Directory.
If a user doesn't have this permission for your personal calendar, events to which they invite you will appear in your Mailbox.
Open items
Can open events and tasks.
Download files & attachments
Can download attached files.
View permissions
Can view this Permissions form.
View history
Can view the history of items.
Open calendar
Can open the calendar.
This lets users see the times for events and tasks, but no other details.
For more information